Feed

“Drink, drink until your thirst is slaked.”

“Are you hungry?”

“Eat up!” There’s more than enough to go around.  What a quantity of food!”

“Enough for seconds…thirds….midnight snacks…”

“Such tasty temptations! Such mouth-watering morsels! Such delightful delicacies! An awesome ambrosia!”

No one could much understand all the blips and bleeps and blurps the aliens were making.

Later we translated it, but by then it was too late.

Our biggest mistake was thinking that the aliens just wanted to be friendly.

Oh, they liked us all right.  Parts of us anyway.

Except for the bits they picked out of their teeth.

(file under…”It’s a fucking cookbook, you idiots!)

14 responses to “Feed

  1. Sad to consider we could one day end up as tasty snacks for an invading race. Inventive story.

  2. Thank you, Alan. This one was part of my Star Trek/Twilight Zone inspiration folder on my hard drive. I’m sorting through that stuff & trying to pick out the best ones to put on the blog.

  3. LOL! Love the Twilight Zone reference. “To Serve Mankind” was the name of the cookbook, if I remember correctly. Are you counting the “file under” line? Because that would make it more than 100 words and technically not a drabble. Not trying to be nit-picky, ‘just saying. 🙂 I think you should count it as part of the story, though. Gives it a nice kick of humor.

  4. I think you are right re: the title of the cookbook. 😉 I wasn’t going to count the ‘file under’ line, that’s just me being a smart-ass. 😉 It’s 100 words without that line, I think. I’m glad you think it should be part of the story, so…it is. Screw it! 🙂 (File under: Writer Makes Executive Decision). 8)

  5. I’m quite late to this one – just found it through the collector, is this your story for the week?

    Was a little confused by the speech, since the quotation marks didn’t precede every paragraph until the last spoken one. Worth fighting through the confusion for the Twilight Zone reference, though.

    • Thanks, John. I originally posted this in November. I’ve been working lots of OT at the job and didn’t have time to put together a Friday Flash for this week, so I put this one out there. It hasn’t appeared as a Friday Flash before though. The original concept was that it was one alien speaking all of the above lines, but your comment’s got me thinking that it might not work best that way. So, I’m going to edit it to make every line said (presumably) by a different alien. Thanks for the advice and the comment!

  6. OMG this one made me snort–which was kind of painful since I had a mouthful of Mt. Dew at the time. I wondered where you were going with it in the beginning with all the unattributed dialogue, but this was brilliant. Great TZ reference 🙂

    • Thanks!

      I’m a big TZ van and this has always been one of my fav episodes. Every time it’s on, I scream at the TV: “It’s a fucking cookbook, you idiots!” So, decided to do something with that.

  7. Pingback: Tweets that mention Feed | Ramsey Lyons -- Topsy.com

  8. Ok, the ending was cool and worth it. I could picture that like it was an old King Kong movie. Remember that visual? Agree with John: just make the beginning a bit clearer and this is a strong little flash piece.

    • Hmmm….I meant this piece to be sort of experimental, but it might be an experiment that needs tinkering with. I didn’t want to reveal that it was aliens talking among themselves until the end. Maybe need to rethink another way of doing that. I do get the King Kong visual. Thanks for the input!

  9. Fun. I remember reading “To Serve Mankind” – this is a nice take on it.

    Well done.

  10. I did like the comedy running through this. 😀

    I do believe though that any aliens with the technology to actually get here may not necessarily have our best interests at heart.

  11. Good one! They wanted to be friends, indeed. Easier to lure the prey into the cook pot.

Leave a Reply

